Red Carpet Rundown: Ebony Power 100 Gala

Saturday night, EBONY Media Group, the leading and most influential Black-owned media company in the world, held their signature annual gala, the 2022 EBONY Power 100 Gala, Presented by Coca-Cola Zero SugarTM at Milk Studios in Hollywood. The star-studded event, hosted by Emmy-nominated comedian and actress Amber Ruffin, honored the remarkable achievements of African Americans spanning across various industries.

The 2022 EBONY Power 100 Gala, Presented by Coca-Cola Zero SugarTM featured an illustrious group of Special Award recipients, who took the stage that evening. Roger Guenveur Smith presented legendary film director Spike Lee with the Icon Award; Nia Long presented Emmy-nominated actress and producer Issa Raewith the People’s Choice Award; Jonathan Majors presented the cast of Black Panther: Wakanda Foreverwith the For The Culture Award; Kendrick Sampson presented the mothers of Breona Taylor and Ahmaud Arbery, Tamika Palmer and Wanda Cooper-Jones with the Social Justice Award; Jay Ellis and Garcelle Beauvais presented Target’s Senior Vice President of Marketing Maurice Cooper with the Corporate Citizen Award; and Kandi Burruss (2022 EBONY Power 100 honoree) presented McKissack & McKissack President and CEO Cheryl McKissack with the Black Business Award.

In addition to the Special Award recipients, the elegant black tie gala was full of black excellence and lively performances. Janelle Monáe kicked off the evening by introducing a dynamic performance from Tony Award-Winning Actor, Myles Frost, who performed Heartbreak Hotel, P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing), and Rock with You from his portrayal of Michael Jackson in Broadway’s MJ the MusicalBianca Lawson later introduced Nigerian rapper, Tobe Nwigwe, who stunned on stage performing CATFISH BLACKENED w/ GRITS, HELLA BLACK, and FYE FYE (AT THE CRIB). During the ceremony, it was also revealed that the cast of Black Panther: Wakanda Forever will grace the cover of Ebony’s November digital cover.

Celebrities in attendance included Quinta Brunson (2022 EBONY Power 100 honoree), Meagan Good, Shannon Thornton and Nico Annan of P.Valley, Amirah Vann, Jabari Banks of Bel Air, Henry Simmons, Lala Milan, Melody Thornton, Olly Sholotan of Bel Air, Linsey Davis, Skyh Alvester Black and KJ Smith, John Clarence Stewart, Roger Guenveur Smith, Tiffany Cross, Gia Peppers, Erica Campbell, Demetrius Flenory Jr., Da’Vinchi and Michole White of BMF, Malcolm Mays of Raising Kanan, Lamon Archey of All American, and many more! See all the fun inside…

Lupita Nyong’o(in Ashlyn), Letitia Wright (in Ferragamo), and Danai Gurira(in Proenza Schouler)

Issa Rae wearing Monot

Meagan Good(in Kamilla Purshie)

Kandi Burruss and Todd Tucker

Garcelle Beauvais

Quinta Brunson

Kamie Crawford, cute dress

KJ Smith and Skyh Alvester Black

Jalyn Hall




Photo by Robin L Marshall/Getty Images for EBONY MEDIA GROUP

Share It!